Bloguest 2016 | My Favourite Opening/Closing Lines – Victoria

Hi everyone! I’m Victoria from Addlepates and Book Nerds, here to post on my fabulous friend Kayleigh’s blog. I thought I’d talk about one of the most important things in a book – the opening and closing lines. The first line can make or break a book for me, and if the last line is terrible I’m bound to give it a lower rating. 

First Lines

“Mr and Mrs Dursley from number four Privet Drive were proud to say they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” ~Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I mean, obviously. Isn’t everything about this series perfect? This gives me shivers every time, it’s the beginning of an era for meharry_potter_generation

“Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. If you’re reading this because you think you might be one, my advice is: close this book right now. Believe what-ever lie your mom or dad told you about your birth, and try to lead a normal life.” ~Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief. This is one of those books that had me hooked straight away. Look at that line! Aren’t you intrigued to know what’s going on?

“Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta: the tip of the tongue taking a trip of three steps down the palate to tap, at three, on the teeth. Lo. Lee. Ta.” ~Lolita. Ignoring the fact that everything about this book is creepy af, it’s written beautifully. And this line is so gorgeous and loving. It’s just, you know, about a child… *shudder*

Last Lines

This was a lot harder than opening lines, because I don’t want to spoil anything for you! There are some lines that make me want to throw the book (in a good way), or end on an amazing cliffhanger, or end in a way that’s so perfect for the rest of the book… If you haven’t read the book, though, it’s hard to find the perfect last line! 

“All was well.” ~Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Do I need to explain why? For all the same reasons the opening line was there, this series is my life

“But now I must sleep.” ~Atonement. Okay, this one is actually a lie on my list. It’s not really the line that makes me feel EVERYTHING, it’s the last few pages. But I couldn’t spoil it for you! It’s just mind blowingly good, trust meAtonement

“He is coming, and I am here.” ~ The Time Traveller’s Wife. The love of the two in this book is a beautiful and rare thing, and I live for it. Honestly, they are too wonderful for words!

4 thoughts on “Bloguest 2016 | My Favourite Opening/Closing Lines – Victoria

Leave a Reply

