Bloguest 2016 | My Favorite Closing Lines – DeliriousDreams

Hey everyone, I am Kira from DeliriousDreams and I am very excited to be a part of Bloguest again this year! Today, I will talk about my 5 favorite closing lines in books. It was super hard to choose my 7 picks! So many amazing closing lines, in so many amazing books!! *sigh* Anyway,  I hope you enjoy reading 🙂

No and Me by Delphine de Vigan

1. [….] “Geneviève has gone back to her counter. She gave us a little wave before she went. I must have looked miles away because Lucas moved his hand gently in front of my face.

He brought his mouth to mine and I felt hit lips first, then his tongue and our saliva mixed. And then I understood that of all the questions I ask myself, the one about which direction your tongue goes in isn’t the most important.”

No and Me is one of my favorite books of all time. The book is about a Parisian teenager  named Lou has an IQ of 160 who has a depressed mother. She has to do a project about homeless teenagers for school while researching she meets No. No is a teenage girl living on the streets. As their friendship gets stronger, Lou asks her parents if No can live with them, and surprisingly they agree. But No has a past of her own that keeps her haunting her and that really messes things up. Lucas is one of Lou’s classmates and she has a big crush on him. Lucas is one of the few people that Lou talks to about No. He helps Lou a lot, and she needs a lot of help since No does cause a lot of trouble. With everything that’s going on in her life, Lou is very stressed out and asks herself a lot of questions. She even stresses about how to kiss Lucas the “right way”. Which is why I like this closing line so much. In the end, she realizes, that there are so many more important things to stress about than how to kiss someone.

Looking For Alaska by John Green

2. “So I know she forgives me, just as I forgive her. Thomas Edison’s last words were: ‘It’s very beautiful over there.’ I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere and I hope it’s beautiful.”

CONTAINS SPOILER!!! This book is about Miles who has an obsession with famous last words. He is heading off to a boarding school where he meets Alaska Young. “The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young”. She pulls Miles into her world and turns his world upside down.

Let me tell you, I bawled my eyes out while reading the last page. LFA is by far my favorite John Green book. This closing line completely shattered me. After Alaska dies, no one really knows what really happened. Was it an accident? Or Suicide? It’s a question that Miles desperately tries to find an answer to. But in the end, he realizes that he will never find out, and no matter what happened, he forgives her and hopes she is in a better place now.

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

3. [….] “I climbed in my car and started to head home, my visor down against the glare of the sun. But at the last minute, I turned left, because I never had before, and because I had time to go down a different road.

Contains Spoilers!! The story follows Lane, who has to go to a sanatorium for teens that suffer from an incurable strain of tuberculosis. There, Lane encounters a girl he first met years ago. Sadie. Her friends, fascinate Lane, who has never stepped out of bounds his whole life. And as he becomes one of them, Sadie shows him their secrets: how to steal the internet, how to sneak into town, and how to disable the med sensors they must wear at all times. But there are consequences to having secrets. And as Lane and Sadie begin to fall in love and their group begins to fall sicker, everything seems to come crashing down.When Lane gets to leave the sanatorium, he is grateful. He is still alive, unlike Sadie, who tragically died. He decided to drive into a different direction. Because he can. Because he has the time to. Because he is still alive. And that is such an amazing closing line. How Lane realizes how lucky he is to be still alive & how he decided to enjoy it while he can.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

4. [….] “The last trace of steam evaporated in the autumn air. The train rounded a corner. Harry’s wand hand was still raised in farewell. ‘He’ll be alright’ murmured Ginny. As Harry looked at her, he lowered his hand absentmindedly and touched his lightning scar on his forehead. ‘I know he will.’ The scar had not pained Harry for nineteen years. All was well.”

I assume I do not have to write a summary about Harry Potter, do I? Or explain why I chose it as one of my favorite closing lines? I mean, it’s Harry Potter!!!

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

5.  [….] “I know these will all be stories someday and our pictures will become old photographs, and we will all become someone’s mom and dad. But right now, these moments aren’t stories this is happening, I am here and I am looking at her, and she is so beautiful……. I can see it.

This one moment when you know you’re not a sad story, you are alive. And you stand up and see the lights on the buildings and everything that makes you wonder, when you were listening to that song, on that drive with the people you love the most in the world.

And in this moment, I swear, we are infinite”

“The perks of being a wallflower is about Charlie, a High School freshman. He is shy, introspective, intelligent but socially awkward. He is a wallflower. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas, and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite.“ This is one of the best books EVER. I had so many feelings while reading it. And the last passage made me feel so many things at once and at the end, even I felt infinite. Charlie has been through a lot. He didn’t have it easy in life and he never seemed to fit in. But then he makes friends in High School and he starts to be happier. But his demons never seem to leave him completely. Which is why this line is so important. Sometimes it just takes the perfect song on that perfect drive to feel happy, to feel infinite.


So these are my 5 (out of 9879999) favorite closing lines from books! I hope you had fun reading this, let me know which your favorite closing line is.

Also, you can find me on almost every social media platform, so feel free to follow me!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Instagram   Twitter   Tumblr  Goodreads   Fictionpress   WordPress

7 thoughts on “Bloguest 2016 | My Favorite Closing Lines – DeliriousDreams

Leave a Reply

