Bloguest 2016 | Books I Loved As A Kiddo – Holly

Hello, lovely readers! My name is Holly, and I’m the nut-allergic bibliophile and blogger behind Nut Free Nerd. Before I get on with this Bloguest post, I’d like to thank Kayleigh for giving me the opportunity to share my bookish thoughts with you all. Guest blogging is always a good time!

Today’s post is dedicated to a few of the books that have helped shape me into the reader I am now. I loved books even as a young kid, an adoration that I credit my parents and teachers with passing on to me. Without further ado, here are seven of my favorite childhood books:

If You Give A Pig A Pancake by Laura Numeroff

Adorable pigs, wild adventures, and delicious pancakes… What’s not to love? I love all of the picture books in this series of sorts, but this one was by far my favorite. I secretly wished that I could have a cute little pig of my own to eat pancakes with!

Puppy in a Puddle by Ben M. Baglio

For some reason this book has distinctly stuck in my memory as the first chapter book I ever read on my own. I vividly remember finishing it while riding the school bus on my way home… even back then I never went anywhere without a book, just in case.

The BFG by Roald Dahl

I recently reread this beloved favorite of mine, and it was even more amazing than I remember it being when my teacher first read it aloud to my class in fourth grade. Witty, hilarious, and completely captivating, this story of one kind giant’s helping hand is sure to delight readers of all ages.

The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo

I had a thing for animals when I was younger (as shown by my infatuation with the pig previously mentioned), so when my third grade teacher read this book aloud to my class I immediately fell in love with the adorable little mouse protagonist. I’ve reread this story countless times since then and I’m always impressed by its wit, charm, and touching message.

The Tail of Emily Windsnap by Liz Kessler

What can I say? I desperately wanted to be a mermaid when I was younger. This story of a girl who becomes a creature of the sea enchanted me and certainly contributed to my fishy aspirations.

Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

Long before Suzanne Collins was of Hunger Games fame, I was a huge fan of this awesome series of hers. Complete with talking rats and an underground world like no other, this story simultaneously entertained and terrified me. I loved every second of it!

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

How could I make a list such as this one without mentioning the gem that is the Harry Potter series? This is my ultimate childhood favorite, and it always will be! ❤

What were your favorite childhood books? What do you think of the ones on my list?

Thanks again to Kayleigh for letting me participate in Bloguest!

Yours,

HOLLY

2 thoughts on “Bloguest 2016 | Books I Loved As A Kiddo – Holly

  1. Harry Potter will always be my #1! The BFG was amazing too – actually, everything by Roald Dahl was. Is it weird that those are the only two on your list I’ve read? I must be missing out

Leave a Reply

