Bloguest 2016 | Libraries I Want To Visit – An Overthinking Teen

Before I start, thank you a lot to Kayleigh for letting me write not one but two posts in this year’s Bloguest – I feel an annual tradition coming on! Now, for the actual post…

I always feel like I’m a bit or a rarity among self-professed bookworms, as I tend to prefer libraries over bookshops – I prefer borrowing books over buying them, at least until I’m sure I’ll love the book. However, a universal disappointment to book lovers is buying or borrowing books abroad, or at least trying to find them in your language. Despite this, I’ve made a list of the top five libraries I want to visit around the world…

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University

This holds ov2er a million volumes and has some seriously stunning architecture, as well as being “one of the largest buildings in the world devoted entirely to rare books and manuscripts”. So, not your average library, but definitely one worth a look, if only for the novelty factor.

Image source: beinecke.library.yale.edu

National Library of Belarus (Minsk, Belarus)3

JUST LOOK AT THOSE LIGHTS

image source: mondoarc.designandgo.net

1University of Aberdeen New Library (Scotland)

All the white and organisation and curvy floors makes my heart happy.

Image via: http://ebookfriendly.com/modern-libraries/university-of-aberdeen-new-library-inside/

Library of the Dutch Parliament (The Hague, Netherlands)

LOOK. AT. THOSE. STAIRCASES.4

Image via: http://www.houseofrepresentatives.nl

Beitou Branch of the Taipei Public Library (Taiwan)

5

Image via: commons.wikimedia.org

And those are my top five libraries! If you want to look at MORE beautiful pictures of libraries, I recommend you check out this (https://www.buzzfeed.com/mattortile/49-breathtaking-libraries-from-all-over-the-world?utm_term=.xkRAzz2PV#.il2Kzzp9e) Buzzfeed post of 49 libraries from all over the world.

Thanks again to Kayleigh for hosting Bloguest and letting me write this post!

An Overthinking Teenager

One thought on “Bloguest 2016 | Libraries I Want To Visit – An Overthinking Teen

Leave a Reply

