Bloguest 2016 | My Favourite Book Boyfriends – Emma

Hi everyone! I’m Emma and I run whatemmasreading. I’m still fairly new so a massive thank you to Kayleigh for trusting me enough to contribute! Kayleigh’s blog is obviously very high quality, so I’ve decided to discuss a very serious topic today that’s very close to my heart: book boyfriends. Those characters so perfect that you wish they were real. Be honest, we all have them (please say I’m not the only one). Here’s a list of my favourites:

Peeta Mellark – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I have no idea how anyone can read The Hunger Games series and not fall in love with Peeta. When you think about it, Peeta is actually really different to the male love interests that we typically see in young adult novels. Normally we have to endure an annoying alpha male who treats our heroine like dirt and has no discernible personality. Not my beloved Peeta though; he’s kind, honest, funny, brave, strong…I could literally go on and spend this entire blog post talking about him. My favourite thing about him is the way he treats Katniss. He’d do anything for her, but he’s not overly protective and possessive. He’s understanding but isn’t afraid to call her out when she’s being unreasonable. All of this makes Peeta my all-time favourite romantic hero. I am a very sad person with a long list of fictional boyfriends, so trust me when I say this is a huge honour.

Jem Carstairs – The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

How annoying is it when there’s a love triangle and your favourite is the least popular involved? I’m aware Jem is still very popular, but in my opinion he doesn’t get the credit he deserves. Don’t get me wrong, I love Will Herondale a lot, but Jem was the character that stood out to me the most when I read The Infernal Devices series. He’s quietly funny, devastatingly noble and treats Tessa amazingly. Writing this, I actually see similarities between him and Peeta. Kind, genuine and brave. Have I just realised I have a type?! If you aren’t familiar with The Infernal Devices then I highly recommend it, but please be prepared to get overly attached to Jem and to cry. A lot.

Will Herondale – The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

See, told you I loved Will too! Just because I love Jem more doesn’t mean Will can’t be one of my fictional boyfriends too. Where Jem is quiet, Will is loud. Will is more like your typical YA hero. You know the one, the boy you know going to be the love interest the minute they’re mentioned. Brooding, sarcastic and brave (sometimes stupidly so). The difference is that Will is so well written. Whilst some characters’ brood so much they make you want to go into the book and tell them to grow up, Will’s brooding is well earned and makes you sympathise with him more. Also, his song writing skills are unbeatable.

Adrian Ivashkov – Vampire Academy and Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

Okay, I know I’ve spent the past 3 paragraphs complaining about brooding love interests, but Adrian’s different. Like Will, he actually has a reason to brood and he’s not constant doom and gloom. Adrian is one of my all-time favourite characters because of how hilarious he is. Chapters involving him will result in you smiling at your book like an idiot, so maybe it’s best not to read them in public.

Warner – Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

When I first read about the Shatter Me series on Tumblr I saw that everyone was talking about a villain they fell in love with. I smugly downloaded the book and prepared to be the exception, but of course I was obsessed with him after a couple of chapters. Warner is the definition of the complicated love interest; he unapologetically does bad things, he’s rude to the majority of the characters and he has a very dark back story.  Again though, his character is so well written and he treats our heroine so well that you find yourself forgiving him for anything. If you need any further evidence that Warner is a perfect book boyfriend, check out this quote; “I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend,” he says, ” the one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, and every shiver of your body.” How can you not be obsessed with him after reading that?

Honourable MentionsRhysand – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas, Rowan – Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J Maas, Ian O’Shea – The Host by Stephanie Meyer, Gabriel Merrick – Elemental by Brigid Kemmerer, Draco Malfoy – Harry Potter by JK Rowling.

Those are my top book boyfriends (I have a lot more, but think I should stop before it gets embarrassing). I’d love to know if you agree with me and who yours are! Let me know in the comments here, on my blog or tweet me!

I want to thank Kayleigh again for letting me do this, I had a lot of fun writing it! I’ve learned a lot from it, mainly that these fictional characters have given me ridiculous expectations and that I need to get out more. Bye!

11 thoughts on “Bloguest 2016 | My Favourite Book Boyfriends – Emma

  1. OMG I LOVE ALL YOUR BOOK BOYFRIENDS, THEY’RE ALL MINE AS WELL! Ugh, books have made my standards for men WAY too high… WHY CAN’T REAL LIFE MEN BE AS WITTY AND AWESOME AS THESE GUYS!?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

