Let’s Talk About… My Shelfie

As a book lover I’m obsessed with pictures of shelfies. I love looking to see how other readers stack their bookshelves and how they keep everything organised. I’m pretty much a neat freak. I love organisation and anything that makes me feel more prepared. However, when it comes to my bookshelf it’s the one thing I don’t actually have an organisation method for. Mainly because I buy books constantly it takes far too much time to constantly rearrange.

Ideally, I would love to have my bookshelf organised alphabetically. That was my original plan when I bought my bookcase but it turns out that plan went out the window when I realised how many books I actually own. I’m in need of a second bookcase if I want to have it arranged alphabetically by author – sadly I don’t have room for another one just yet. My second plan was to organise it in order of either favourite books or favourite authours. Turns out this challenge is a lot harder than it sounds. Have you ever sat surrounded by your books trying to decide what one you enjoyed more? It’s very difficult.

Ultimately I decided to dedicate the top shelf of my bookcase to my favourite authours and the few Harry Potter items I own. Currently sitting on the top spot are my two obvious authors – Giovanna Fletcher and John Green. If you’ve followed me for a while you’ll know I practically rave about these two constantly. Kasie West also takes the top spot with her collection of books – I highly recommend her books if you’re looking for a new read. Such wonderful stories. The Distance Between Us is one of my favourites but Spilt Second is a close second. Other authors that feature on my top shelf include Stephanie Perkins (because who didn’t fall in love with Anna and Etienne), Gillian Flynn and Tahereh Mafi. If I had more room Sarah J. Maas, Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern would also take the top spot.

Today I’d love to know how you organise your book collection. Do you arrange everything alphabetically by either author or title? Do you arrange it by genre or by your favourites? Or like me is it just a somewhat jumbled mess that you love? Let me know below ๐Ÿ™‚

X


Twitterย | Instagramย | Goodreadsย | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

